Waldhof

BUILDING

The Kunstverein Bielefeld is housed in the Waldhof, a manor farm once belonging to local nobility, built in the style of the Weser renaissance and dating from the 16th century. It is located in the old town centre of Bielefeld. Certain parts of its substance date back to the time of Bielefeld’s foundation as a city in the 13th century. The Waldhof’s forty square metre vaults hail from the Gothic era.

HIREAGE

The vaults offer a particularly atmospheric setting for events. It can be hired by private individuals or by firms and has room for a maximum of 30 people. Should this be of interest, you are welcome to assure yourself of its special atmosphere in situ, whilst we will be pleased to advise you on your individual needs. We are looking forward to receiving your inquiries at kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de or oder +49 (0) 521.17 88 06.

Permanent installed works

In the inner courtyard of the Kunstverein Bielefeld, the works Tisch (Table) (1988) by Reinhard Buxel, and 1990 (1990) by Maria Dompè can be visited. Besides our opening hours, the courtyard is open during the week from 9:00–18:00. The installation Der Morgen (The Morning) (2000) by Elisabeth Masé can be viewed by appointment in the vault of the Kunstverein. Please contact us at kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de or +49 (0) 521.17 88 06.


FURTHER INFORMATION

REINHARD BUXEL
TISCH (TABLE), 1988
Sandstone, installed in the courtyard of the Kunstverein

The sculptor Reinhard Buxel (born 1953, Amshausen; died 2016, Salzkotten) redefined the relation between natural materials and imposed form with his large-format stone sculptures, comprised of individual, tightly-closed blocks. Buxel’s works are marked by a lively contrast and balance between opposed formal principles: rest and movement, line and volume, weight and weighed-upon. His sculpture’s basic architectural and geometric forms are reminiscent of prehistoric and ancient cult statues, but are also shaped by their idiom of modernist form. Like Buxel’s other works, Tisch (Table) is infused with the tension between nature and culture, between the individual stone pieces and the unified whole. The title refers to a possible furniture function – as a picnic table, an altar or the centerpiece of a gathering – but ultimately refuses any fixed functional definition. Tisch (Table) was installed in the former Kunstverein sculpture courtyard as part of the artists‘ festival Artibus ‘89.


MARIA DOMPÈ
1990, 1990
Dolomite rock, rope, installed in the courtyard of the Kunstverein

The work of Maria Dompè (born 1959, Fermo, Italy) makes reference to social events: she creates site-specific sculptures which generate a dialogue between sites and their history. As part of Artibus '90, Dompè was a guest artist for a week at the Kunstverein, where she used the inner courtyard as an outdoor studio. The sculpture she produced, 1990, refers both spatially and historically to the former asylum window built into the wall of the Waldhof building. As an aristocratic seat, the Waldhof was a place of asylum from city law. The polished side of the Dolomite rock sculpture is turned toward what was once the passage through the wall, now closed up, with the sculpture picking up the form of the passage. In this way, Dompè’s 1990 makes direct reference to the opening of the Berlin Wall.


ELISABETH MASÉ
DER MORGEN (THE MORNING), 2000
Site-specific installation in the vault of the Kunstverein

The arch in the Kunstverein cellar, built around 1200, is one of Bielefeld’s few remaining traces of medieval architecture. The space was altered substantially in the 1950s, and now serves the Kunstverein as a meeting room, storage space, and temporary exhibition space. For the installation Der Morgen (The Morning), the space was completely emptied out. The rear area, with its closed-in, protective ambience, contained a colorful, multi-part mobile. The red tabletop rests on five red cubes, the number representing the Kunstverein's board. Beside the long red table are two grey-silver benches; at its head stand two lilac-colored stools, cubic in form. A metallic midnight blue vase rests on the table, containing a white lily. The flower is creating a formal connection with the Gothic arch. Representations of the lily were at their most widespread in the thirteenth century; in the biblical tradition, the flower is seen as symbolizing election for salvation.

KUNSTVEREIN BIELEFELD
Welle 61
33602 Bielefeld

Thu, Fri 15:00–19:00
Sat, Sun 12:00–19:00
Public holidays 12:00–19:00

T +49 (0) 521.17 88 06
F +49 (0) 521.17 88 10
kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

Kunstverein Bielefeld. Photo: Dennis Neuschaefer-Rube

Waldhof

Gebäude

Der Kunstverein Bielefeld befindet sich im Waldhof, einem Adelshof aus dem 16. Jahrhundert im Stil der Weserrenaissance, der in der Altstadt, dem Zentrum Bielefelds, gelegen ist. Teile der historischen Bausubstanz reichen bis in die Zeit der Bielefelder Stadtgründung im 13. Jahrhundert zurück. Das vierzig Quadratmeter große Gewölbe des Waldhofs stammt aus der Zeit der Gotik.

Anmietung

Das Gewölbe bietet einen besonders stimmungsvollen Rahmen für Veranstaltungen. Es kann von Privatpersonen oder Firmen gemietet werden und bietet für maximal 30 Personen Platz. Bei Interesse können Sie sich vor Ort von der Atmosphäre überzeugen und sich von uns individuell beraten lassen.
Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfragen unter kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de oder +49 (0) 521.17 88 06.

Permanent installierte Werke

Im Innenhof des Kunstverein Bielefeld befinden sich die Werke Tisch (1988) von Reinhard Buxel und 1990 (1990) von Maria Dompè. Jenseits unserer Öffnungszeiten ist der Hof unter der Woche von 9:00 bis 18:00 geöffnet. Die Installation Der Morgen (2000) von Elisabeth Masé kann im Gewölbe des Kunstvereins nach Absprache unter kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de oder +49 (0) 521.17 88 06 besichtigt werden.


WEITERE INFORMATIONEN

REINHARD BUXEL
TISCH, 1988
Sandstein, installiert im Hof des Kunstvereins

Reinhard Buxel (*1953 in Amshausen, †2016 in Salzkotten) hat in seinen großformatigen Steinskulpturen, bestehend aus einzelnen, fugendicht geschlossenen Blöcken, das Verhältnis des natürlich gegebenen Materials zur gewollten Kunstform neu definiert. Gegensätzliche bildnerische Prinzipien, wie Lastendes und Tragendes, Ruhe und Bewegtheit, Linie und Volumen, stehen in seinen Arbeiten in lebendigem Kontrast und Ausgleich. Buxels Skulpturen erinnern in ihren architektonisch-geometrischen Grundformen einerseits an vor- und frühgeschichtliche Kultmale, sind aber andererseits von einer modernen Formensprache geprägt. Auch die Arbeit Tisch steht in der Spannung zwischen Natur und Kultur und dem Zusammenspiel der steinernen Einzelteile zu einem einheitlichen Ganzen. Der Titel verweist auf eine Möbelfunktion – Picknicktisch, Altar oder Versammlungsort – entzieht sich aber gleichzeitig einer funktionalen Festlegung. Tisch wurde im Zuge des Künstler*innenfestes Artibus '89 im ehemaligen Skulpturengarten des Kunstvereins installiert


MARIA DOMPÈ
1990, 1990
Dolomitgestein, Seil, installiert im Hof des Kunstvereins

Maria Dompè (*1959 in Fermo, Italien) bezieht sich in ihrer Arbeit auf gesellschaftliche Ereignisse, sie schafft ortsspezifische Skulpturen, die einen Dialog zwischen dem Ort und seiner Geschichte eingehen. Die Künstlerin war im Zuge des Artibus '90 einige Wochen zu Gast im Kunstverein und nutzte den Innenhof als offenes Atelier. Die in diesem Zeitraum entstandene Skulptur 1990 bezieht sich räumlich und historisch auf das ehemalige Asylfenster in der Mauer des Waldhofs. Der ehemalige Adelshof war ausgestattet mit dem Asylrecht als Schutz vor dem Stadtgericht. Die aus Dolomitgestein gearbeitete Skulptur ist mit ihrer geschliffenen Seite dem mittlerweile zugemauerten Durchgang in der Mauer zugewandt und greift dessen Form auf. Dompè stellt mit 1990 einen direkten Bezug zu der Öffnung der Berliner Mauer.


ELISABETH MASÉ
DER MORGEN, 2000
Raumbezogene Installation im Gewölbe des Kunstvereins

Das um 1200 errichtete Gewölbe im Keller zählt zu den wenigen Zeugnissen mittelalterlichen Bauens in Bielefeld. Der in den 1950er Jahren stark veränderte Raum diente dem Kunstverein als Sitzungszimmer, temporärer Ausstellungsraum oder als Lager. Für die Installation Der Morgen wurde der Raum vollständig entleert. Im hinteren, in sich geschlossen und geschützt wirkenden Raumteil ist eine farbige, mehrteilige Möbelskulptur entstanden. Die rote Tischplatte wird von fünf roten Kuben getragen. Die Zahl der Kuben entspricht der Zahl der Vorstandsmitglieder. Den Tisch flankieren zwei grausilbrige Bänke. An den Kopfenden des Tisches stehen zwei fliederfarbene, kubisch geformte Stühle. Auf der roten, langen Tafel steht eine nachtblaue metallene Vase, in der sich eine weiße Lilie befindet. Diese stellt die formale Verbindung zum gotischen Gewölbe her. Die Lilie erfuhr ihre größte Verbreitung im 13. Jahrhundert und gilt in der biblischen Tradition als Symbol der Erwählung. Die Arbeit wird aktuell restauriert.

KUNSTVEREIN BIELEFELD
Welle 61
33602 Bielefeld

Do, Fr, 15:00 – 19:00
Sa, So, 12:00 – 19:00
Mo–Mi, nach Vereinbarung

T +49 (0) 521.17 88 06
F +49 (0) 521.17 88 10
kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

Kunstverein Bielefeld. Photo: Dennis Neuschaefer-Rube