Vaclav Pozarek

20.02. – 30.05.2021

Please note that the Kunstverein will be
temporarily closed from 20.04.2021 due
to the increased incidence value in
Bielefeld. Visit us ONLINE.

The Kunstverein Bielefeld is delighted to present TUC (Turnstile Utter Chaos), a solo exhibition by Vaclav Pozarek. Born in 1940 in Budweis (Czechoslovakia, now Czech Republic) Pozarek today lives in Berne, Switzerland. His work is characterized by a combination of sculpture, drawing and photography, used along with architecture, printing, book design and typography. His artistic practice focuses on the conditions that constitute both artistic production and reception. Deliberately destabilizing the boundaries between art and its exterior, Pozarek undermines the traditional ordering principles used within, and constructed by, institutional and art-theoretical contexts.

Pozarek will exhibit an ensemble of new objects, designed specifically for and with the architecture of the Kunstverein Bielefeld. It consists of simple materials, mostly wood, found or industrially manufactured, covered with ordinary commercial protective paint. Their formal structure makes reference to the shape of doors, boxes, or building components. The pieces are marked by open structures; they give new nuance to the vocabulary of modernity, against a backdrop of postmodern formal language. The witty, critical work reflects on art’s historicity, simultaneously disclosing and highlighting the contradictions and ambivalences within this historicity. Pozarek’s work offers some of our era's most precise analysis, constantly posing and reposing the question of what identifies art as such.

Pozarek's work has been shown in solo exhibitions at the Mitterrand Gallery, Paris (2020), the Francesca Pia Gallery, Zurich (2019), the Musée d'art moderne et contemporain (MAMCO) in Geneva (2018), the Barbara Wien Gallery, Berlin (2018), the Kunstmuseum Solothurn (2015), the Bündner Kunstmuseum, Chur (2012), the Kunsthaus Glarus (2006), and the Kunst Museum Winterthur (2004). His work has also featured in numerous group exhibitions, and was presented by the galleries Francesca Pia and Barbara Wien as part of Unlimited Art Basel 2019. In 2006, he was the recipient of the Prix Meret Oppenheim.

As part of Pozarek's solo exhibition at the Kunstverein Bielefeld, PAIR, an artist’s book, will be produced.

KUNSTVEREIN BIELEFELD
Welle 61
33602 Bielefeld

Thu, Fr, 15:00 – 19:00
Sa, So, 12:00 – 19:00
Mo-Wed, by appointment

T +49 (0) 521.17 88 06
F +49 (0) 521.17 88 10
kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

Graphic drawing of the letters T, U and C, which form the title of the exhibition and stand for Turnstile Utter Chaos.

© 2020 by Vaclav Pozarek

Triangle pointing left Triangle pointing right
A brown, two-sided wooden gate stands on two wooden rollers. It is attached to the wall with the open sides.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

1/10
In the next room, the two-sided wooden gate continues. Here, too, it stands on two wooden rollers and the open sides are mounted on the wall.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

2/10
Back to the first object: the grid-like arrangement of the wooden gates now becomes clear. Even if one cannot see the object in the other room through the wall, it is now possible to imagine how the gate continues across walls and thus creates its own spaces.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

3/10
Walking through the exhibition rooms, one encounters more wooden racks. In this picture you can see a two-sided brown gate on rollers, which is hidden behind a column.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

4/10
If you take a step back, the gate in the next, smaller exhibition room also becomes visible.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

5/10
The two three-sided wooden gates on rollers in the small cabinet room look much more massive than the same gates in the larger otherwise empty exhibition rooms.  The close-up shows that the artist has placed the hinges that hold the gates together on the outside, making them visible to the viewer.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

6/10
Wooden gates were also installed on the upper floor. One in the front room and two in the back, with only the frontmost and the rearmost visible in the exhibition view. In general, no more than two gates can be seen at any one time.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

7/10
The frontal view of the gate makes it look flat and less spatial.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

8/10
The small room on the upper floor is the only one in the entire exhibition where two gates face each other. They do not mirror each other, however, but can rather be understood as a continuation of the respective other part.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

9/10
The frontal view of this last grate on the upper floor puts the structure of the grate in relation to the structure of the windows to the right and left of it. The openness and the closedness of the objects thus come to the fore.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, exhibition view, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

10/10

Events:

  • 16.04.2021, 19:00

    ONLINE LECTURE

    by Valérie Knoll (Director, Kunsthalle Bern)
    in context of the exhibition TUC by Vaclav Pozarek
    HERE

  • 17.04.2021, 12:00

    ARTIST TALK AND PRESENTATION OF THE ARTIST BOOK PAIR

    Vaclav Pozarek in conversation with Nadine Droste
    POSTPONED / NEW DATE TO BE ANNOUNCED SHORTLY

  • 18.04.2021, 17:00

    ONLINE EXHIBITION TOUR

    with Nadine Droste
    Please register via anmeldung@kunstverein-bielefeld.de to receive Zoom access details for the event.

  • 22.05.2021, 10:00

    CHILDREN'S ACTIVITY

    with Klaus Braun
    10:00 - 15:00
    Please register at
    vermittlung@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

  • 30.05.2021, 17:00

    EXHIBITION TOUR

    with Nadine Droste

Publications and editions

Vaclav Pozarek
TUC, 2021

Vaclav Pozarek
TUC, 2021

Vaclav Pozarek
PAIR, 2021

Vaclav Pozarek

20.02. – 01.08.2021

Wir sind den Sommer über für Sie da.
Sie finden unser Sommerprogramm HIER.

Der Kunstverein Bielefeld freut sich, die Einzelausstellung TUC (Turnstile Utter Chaos) von Vaclav Pozarek zu präsentieren. Das Werk des 1940 in Budweis (Tschechoslowakei, heute Tschechien) geborenen und in Bern (Schweiz) lebenden Künstlers zeichnet sich durch die Verknüpfung skulpturaler, zeichnerischer und fotografischer Methoden mit jenen der Architektur, Grafik und Buchtypographie aus. Im Fokus seiner Praxis steht die Frage nach den konstituierenden Bedingungen der künstlerischen Produktion und ihrer Rezeption. Pozarek unterläuft die tradierten Ordnungsprinzipien institutioneller und kunsttheoretischer Konstruktionen, indem er die Grenzen der Kunst zu ihrem Außen gezielt destabilisiert.

Ausgehend von der Architektur des Kunstverein Bielefeld hat Pozarek ein Ensemble mit neuen Objekten entworfen. Sie bestehen aus einfachen, gefundenen oder industriell gefertigten Materialien – meist Holz – und sind mit handelsüblichen Schutzfarben versehen, während ihr formaler Aufbau auf die Gestalt von Türen, Kisten oder Bauteilen verweist. Die Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch offene Strukturen aus und differenzieren das Vokabular der Moderne vor der Folie der post-modernen Formensprache. Pozareks so humorvolle wie kritische Reflexion der Geschichtlichkeit von Kunst zeigt sich in der Offenlegung ihrer Widersprüche und Ambivalenzen. Dass er mit seinem Werk stets die Frage herausfordert, was Kunst als Kunst identifiziert, macht Pozarek zu einem der präzisesten Analysten der Gegenwart.

Vaclav Pozareks Werke waren in Einzelausstellungen in der Galerie Mitterrand, Paris (2020), in der Galerie Francesca Pia, Zürich (2019), im Musée d’art moderne et contemporain (MAMCO), Genf (2018), in der Galerie Barbara Wien, Berlin (2018), im Kunstmuseum Solothurn (2015), im Bündner Kunstmuseum, Chur (2012), im Kunsthaus Glarus (2006) und im Kunst Museum Winterthur (2004) sowie in zahlreichen Gruppenausstellungen zu sehen. Pozarek wurde im Rahmen der Unlimited Art Basel 2019 von den Galerien Francesca Pia und Barbara Wien präsentiert. 2006 erhielt Pozarek den Prix Meret Oppenheim.

Im Rahmen von Vaclav Pozareks Einzelausstellung im Kunstverein Bielefeld ist das Künstlerbuch PAIR entstanden.

KUNSTVEREIN BIELEFELD
Welle 61
33602 Bielefeld

Do, Fr, 15:00 – 19:00
Sa, So, 12:00 – 19:00
Mo–Mi, nach Vereinbarung

T +49 (0) 521.17 88 06
F +49 (0) 521.17 88 10
kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

Grafische Zeichnung der Buchstaben T, U und C, die den Titel der Ausstellung bilden und für Turnstile Utter Chaos stehen.

© 2020, Vaclav Pozarek

Triangle pointing left Triangle pointing right
Ein braunes, zweiseitiges Holzgatter steht auf zwei Holzwalzen. Es ist mit den offenen Seiten an der Wand befestigt.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

1/10
Im nächsten Raum setzt sich das zweiseitige Holzgatter fort. Auch hier steht es auf zwei Holzwalzen und die offenen Seiten sind an der Wand montiert..

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

2/10
Zurück zum ersten Objekt: die rasterartige Anordnung der Holzgatter wird nun deutlich. Auch wenn man das Objekt im anderen Raum durch die Wand hindurch nicht sehen kann, lässt sich nun imaginieren wie das Gatter sich über Wände hinweg fortsetzt und so eigene Räume schafft.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

3/10
Beim Durchschreiten der Ausstellungsräume begegnen einem weitere Holzgestellt. Auf dieser Abbildung ist ein zweiseitiges, braunes Gatter auf Walzen zu sehen, welches sich hinter einer Säule versteckt.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

4/10
Tritt man einen Schritt zurück, wird auch das Gatter im nächsten, kleineren Ausstellungsraum sichtbar.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

5/10
Die zwei dreiseitigen Holzgatter auf Walzen im kleinen Kabinettraum wirken viel massiver als die selben Gatter in den größeren ansonsten leeren Ausstellungsräumen. Die Nahaufnahme zeigt, dass der Künstler die Schaniere, welche die Gatter zusammenhalten, außen angebracht hat, und sie somit für die Betrachter*innen sichtbar sind.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

6/10
Auch im Obergeschoss wurden Holzgatter installiert. Eins im vorderen Raum und zwei im hinteren, wobei auf der Ausstellungsansicht nur das vorderste und das hinterste zu sehen sind. Generell lassen sich immer höchstens zwei Gatter gleichzeitig sehen.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

7/10
Die Frontalansicht des Gatters lässt es flach und weniger räumlich wirken.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

8/10
Im kleinen Raum im Obergeschoss stehen sich als einziges in der ganzen Ausstellung zwei Gatter gegenüber. Sie spiegeln sich aber nicht, sondern lassen sich vielmehr als Fortsetzung des jeweils anderen Parts verstehen.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

9/10
Die Frontalansicht dieses letzten Gatters im Obergeschoss stellt die Struktur des Gatters der Struktur der Fenster rechts und links davon in ein Verhältnis. Die Offenheit und die Geschlossenheit der Objekte treten dadurch in den Vordergrund.

Vaclav Pozarek, TUC, Ausstellungsansicht, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2021.
Photo: Fred Dott

10/10

Presseinformationen

Termine:

  • 16.04.2021, 19:00

    ONLINE-VORTRAG

    von Valérie Knoll (Direktorin, Kunsthalle Bern)
    im Rahmen der Ausstellung TUC von Vaclav Pozarek
    HIER

  • 18.04.2021, 17:00

    ONLINE-AUSSTELLUNGSFÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellung TUC von Vaclav Pozarek mit Nadine Droste

  • 13.06.2021, 17:00

    FÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellungen mit Leonore Spemann

  • 27.06.2021, 17:00

    FÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellungen mit Leonore Spemann

  • 03.07.2021, 10:00

    KINDERAKTION

    Workshop mit Klaus Braun
    10:00 - 15:00
    Um Anmeldung wird gebeten unter
    vermittlung@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

  • 04.07.2021, 17:00

    FÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellungen mit Carsten Gude

  • 11.07.2021, 17:00

    FÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellungen mit Carsten Gude

  • 16.07.2021, 19:00

    KÜNSTLERGESPRÄCH UND PRÄSENTATION DES KÜNSTLERBUCHES PAIR

    Vaclav Pozarek im Gespräch mit Nadine Droste

  • 18.07.2021, 17:00

    KURATORINNENFÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellungen mit Nadine Droste

  • 25.07.2021, 17:00

    FÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellungen mit Leonore Spemann

  • 01.08.2021, 17:00

    KURATORINNENFÜHRUNG

    durch die Ausstellungen mit Nadine Droste

Publikationen und Jahresgaben

Vaclav Pozarek
TUC, 2021

Vaclav Pozarek
TUC, 2021

Vaclav Pozarek
PAIR, 2021