Stay Twice

BEATRIZ OLABARRIETA

07.09.–10.11.2019
Opening 06.09.2019, 19:00

The Kunstverein Bielefeld, under the new direction of Nadine Droste, is delighted to present Stay Twice, the first institutional solo exhibition in Germany by Beatriz Olabarrieta. Olabarrieta’s work deals with the visual representation of communication and language. It reflects on the relationship between literal and metaphorical meaning, text and materiality, message and sign, in order to examine the standardized, codified and disembodied forms of communication of the information society. Olabarrieta stages texts and signs as messages that do not find their addressees, that fail to make effective statements, or refuse to be concretely assigned. For Bielefeld, in collaboration with Armin Lorenz Gerold, Hendrike Nagel, Romy Kießling and Zach Furniss, Olabarrieta has created a setting with new works extending across the entire Kunstverein. In Stay Twice, objects become figures, symbols become bodies, and signs become characters, so as to open up an imaginative space in which changed contexts of meaning are constituted.

Beatriz Olabarrieta (born in Bilbao, Spain) lives and works in Berlin. Upcoming solo exhibitions include Espai 13, Joan Miró Foundation, Barcelona, Spain (2019), and CentroCentro, Madrid, Spain (2020). Selected recent ones include Ask the Dust, Museum of Contemporary Art Santa Barbara, California, US (2018–19); New Clear Family, Frankfurt am Main, Berlin (2018); The only way out is in, The Sunday Painter, London, UK (2017); Book! Don’t tell me what to do, Parallel Oaxaca, Mexico City, Mexico (2017); Dumb Bells, Saturdays Live, Serpentine Galleries, London, UK (2016). Recent group shows include The Garden Bridge, Brücke-Museum, Berlin (2019); M. Quelque Chose, Les Bains-Douches, Alençon, France (2018); Los Algoritmos Suaves, Centre del Carme, Valencia, Spain (2018).

KUNSTVEREIN BIELEFELD
Welle 61
33602 Bielefeld

Thu, Fri 15:00–19:00
Sat, Sun 12:00–19:00
Public holidays 12:00–19:00

T +49 (0) 521.17 88 06
F +49 (0) 521.17 88 10
kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

Triangle pointing left Triangle pointing right
The installation "A predictive T" by Beatriz Olabarrieta shows the kinetic object "Horizon" and an object from the series "Players". The cut-outs of the series The Players, consisting of melamine panels, proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships. They enter into new constellations in order to open up connections and opposites at the same time.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, A predictive T including Horizon + The players (A again), 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

1/14
The work "Horizon" by Beatriz Olabarrieta is a kinetic object that plays sound pieces by Armin Lorenz Gerold.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, Horizon, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

2/14
The cut-outs of the series The Players, consisting of melamine panels, proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships. They enter into new constellations in order to open up connections and opposites at the same time.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

3/14
The cut-outs of the series The Players, consisting of melamine panels, proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships. They enter into new constellations in order to open up connections and opposites at the same time.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

4/14
The cut-outs of the series The Players, consisting of melamine panels, proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships. They enter into new constellations in order to open up connections and opposites at the same time.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

5/14
The cut-outs of the series The Players, consisting of melamine panels, proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships. They enter into new constellations in order to open up connections and opposites at the same time.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

6/14
Helmet object by Zach Furniss.

Zach Furniss, untitled, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

7/14
The work "We will soon find out" generates a retarding moment. The interplay of videos and objects creates a state of tension that anticipates an upcoming, unnamed event.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, We will soon find out, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

8/14
The work "We will soon find out" generates a retarding moment. The interplay of videos and objects creates a state of tension that anticipates an upcoming, unnamed event.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, We will soon find out, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

9/14
The work "The players (D is Dorian)" ist part of the series "The players" consisting of melamine panels, that proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (D is Dorian), 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

10/14
The work "The players (D is Dorian)" ist part of the series "The players" consisting of melamine panels, that proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (D is Dorian) + You, going upstairs, 2019. Exhibition view Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

11/14

Beatriz Olabarrieta, You, going upstairs, 2019. Exhibition view, Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

12/14
The cut-outs of the series The Players, consisting of melamine panels, proceed from graphic or semantic structures in order to reconstitute the relationship between sign and meaning. In their dimensionality, materiality, relation and determination, Olabarrieta’s works are always in the process of transcending attributions and generating altered relationships. They enter into new constellations in order to open up connections and opposites at the same time.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, Bare interior, with printed script by Hendrike Nagel, 2019. Exhibition view, Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

13/14
Catastrophe and lysis are linked in the video work Author unknown. Dystopian video recordings of tornados behave contrary to the melodic sound and create a moment in which certainties are undermined through the change of context.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, Weather report, 2019. Exhibition view, Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

14/14

Press information

Events:

  • 06.09.2019, 19:00

    OPENING – STAY TWICE

  • 07.09.2019, 15:00

    EXHIBITION CONVERSATION

    with Beatriz Olabarrieta
    (in English language)

  • 08.09.2019, 17:00

    EXHIBITION TOUR

    with Nadine Droste

  • 21.09.2019, 10:00

    CHILDREN’S ACTIVITY

    Workshop with Klaus Braun
    10:00–15:00
    Contribution: 15 €
    Please register at
    vermittlung@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

  • 09.11.2019, 10:00

    CHILDREN’S ACTIVITY

    Workshop with Klaus Braun
    10:00–15:00
    Contribution: €15
    Please register at
    vermittlung@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

  • 10.11.2019, 17:00

    EXHIBITION TOUR

    with Nadine Droste

Publications and editions

Beatriz Olabarrieta
Stay Twice, 2019

Beatriz Olabarrieta
Stay Twice, 2019

Stay Twice

BEATRIZ OLABARRIETA

07.09.–10.11.2019
Eröffnung: 06.09.2019, 19:00

Der Kunstverein Bielefeld unter der neuen Direktion von Nadine Droste freut sich, Stay Twice zu präsentieren, die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Deutschland von Beatriz Olabarrieta. Olabarrieta beschäftigt sich in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis mit der visuellen Darstellung von Kommunikation und Sprache. Sie reflektiert das Verhältnis von wörtlichen und metaphorischen Bedeutungen, von Text und Materialität sowie Nachricht und Zeichen, um die standardisierten, kodifizierten und entkörperten Kommunikationsformen der Informationsgesellschaft zu beleuchten. Olabarrieta inszeniert Texte und Zeichen als Nachrichten, die ihren Adressaten nicht finden, effektive Aussagen verfehlen und sich der konkreten Zuordenbarkeit verwehren. Für Bielefeld hat Olabarrieta in Zusammenarbeit mit Armin Lorenz Gerold, Hendrike Nagel, Romy Kießling und Zach Furniss ein Setting mit neuen Arbeiten entworfen, die über beide Stockwerke des Kunstvereins angeordnet sind. In Stay Twice werden Objekte zu Figuren, Symbole zu Körpern und Zeichen zu Charakteren, um einen imaginativen Raum zu eröffnen, in dem veränderte Bedeutungszusammenhänge konstituiert werden.

Beatriz Olabarrieta (geboren in Bilbao, Spanien) lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie wird in Kürze Einzelausstellungen im Espai 13, Joan Miró Foundation, Barcelona, Spanien (2019), und im CentroCentro, Madrid, Spanien (2020), zeigen. Zuletzt präsentierte sie die Einzelausstellungen Ask the Dust, Museum of Contemporary Art Santa Barbara, Kalifornien, USA (2018-19); New Clear Family, Frankfurt am Main, Berlin (2018); The only way out is in, The Sunday Painter, London, UK (2017); Book! Don’t tell me what to do, Parallel Oaxaca, Mexiko-Stadt, Mexiko (2017); Dumb Bells, Saturdays Live, Serpentine Galleries, London, UK (2016). Ihre Arbeiten waren unter anderem vertreten in den Gruppenausstellungen The Garden Bridge, Brücke-Museum, Berlin (2019); M. Quelque Chose, Les Bains-Douches, Alençon, Frankreich (2018); Los Algoritmos Suaves, Centre del Carme, Valencia, Spanien (2018).

KUNSTVEREIN BIELEFELD
Welle 61
33602 Bielefeld

Do, Fr, 15:00–19:00
Sa, So, 12:00–19:00
Vorläufig geschlossen!

T +49 (0) 521.17 88 06
F +49 (0) 521.17 88 10
kontakt@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

Triangle pointing left Triangle pointing right
Die Installation "A predictive T" von Beatriz Olabarrieta zeigt ein Cut-Out der Serie "Player" und das kinetische Objekt "A predictive T" zeigt. Die Cut-Outs der Serie The players, bestehend aus Melaminplatten, gehen von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen aus, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren. Olabarrietas Arbeiten sind in ihrer Dimensionalität, Materialität, Relation und Bestimmung stets im Begriff, Zuschreibungen zu überschreiten und veränderte Verhältnisse zu generieren. Sie gehen neue Konstellationen ein, um Zusammenhänge und Gegensätze zugleich zu eröffnen.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, A predictive T mit Horizon + The players (A again), 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

1/14
Die Arbeit "Horizon" ist ein kinetisches Objekt, das von Armin Lorenz Gerold komponierte Soundsequenzen abspielt.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, Horizon, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

2/14
Die Cut-Outs der Serie "The players", bestehend aus Melaminplatten, gehen von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen aus, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren. Olabarrietas Arbeiten sind in ihrer Dimensionalität, Materialität, Relation und Bestimmung stets im Begriff, Zuschreibungen zu überschreiten und veränderte Verhältnisse zu generieren. Sie gehen neue Konstellationen ein, um Zusammenhänge und Gegensätze zugleich zu eröffnen.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

3/14
Die Cut-Outs der Serie "The players", bestehend aus Melaminplatten, gehen von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen aus, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren. Olabarrietas Arbeiten sind in ihrer Dimensionalität, Materialität, Relation und Bestimmung stets im Begriff, Zuschreibungen zu überschreiten und veränderte Verhältnisse zu generieren. Sie gehen neue Konstellationen ein, um Zusammenhänge und Gegensätze zugleich zu eröffnen.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

4/14
Die Cut-Outs der Serie "The players", bestehend aus Melaminplatten, gehen von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen aus, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren. Olabarrietas Arbeiten sind in ihrer Dimensionalität, Materialität, Relation und Bestimmung stets im Begriff, Zuschreibungen zu überschreiten und veränderte Verhältnisse zu generieren. Sie gehen neue Konstellationen ein, um Zusammenhänge und Gegensätze zugleich zu eröffnen.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

5/14
Die Cut-Outs der Serie "The players", bestehend aus Melaminplatten, gehen von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen aus, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren. Olabarrietas Arbeiten sind in ihrer Dimensionalität, Materialität, Relation und Bestimmung stets im Begriff, Zuschreibungen zu überschreiten und veränderte Verhältnisse zu generieren. Sie gehen neue Konstellationen ein, um Zusammenhänge und Gegensätze zugleich zu eröffnen.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (A) + The players (B, stunt double) + Unplugged, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

6/14
Helmobjekt von Zach Furniss.

Zach Furniss, untitled, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

7/14
Die Arbeit "We will soon find out" von Beatriz Olabarrieta erzeugt ein retadierendes Moment. Im Zusammenspiel von Videos und Objekten wird ein Zustand des gespannten Verharrens erzeugt, der ein kommendes, unbenanntes Ereignis antizipiert.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, We will soon find out, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

8/14
Die Arbeit "We will soon find out" von Beatriz Olabarrieta erzeugt ein retadierendes Moment. Im Zusammenspiel von Videos und Objekten wird ein Zustand des gespannten Verharrens erzeugt, der ein kommendes, unbenanntes Ereignis antizipiert.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, We will soon find out, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

9/14
Die Arbeit "The players (D is Dorian)" von Beatriz Olabarrieta ist Teil der Serie "The players", bestehend aus Melaminplatten, die von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen ausgehen, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (D is Dorian), 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

10/14
Die Arbeit "The players (D is Dorian)" von Beatriz Olabarrieta ist Teil der Serie "The players", bestehend aus Melaminplatten, die von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen ausgehen, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, The players (D is Dorian) + You, going upstairs, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

11/14

Beatriz Olabarrieta, You, going upstairs, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

12/14
Die Cut-Outs der Serie The players, bestehend aus Melaminplatten, gehen von grafischen oder semantischen Strukturen aus, um das Verhältnis von Zeichen und Bedeutung neu zu konstituieren. Olabarrietas Arbeiten sind in ihrer Dimensionalität, Materialität, Relation und Bestimmung stets im Begriff, Zuschreibungen zu überschreiten und veränderte Verhältnisse zu generieren. Sie gehen neue Konstellationen ein, um Zusammenhänge und Gegensätze zugleich zu eröffnen.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, Bare interior, mit gedrucktem Skript von Hendrike Nagel, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

13/14
Katastrophe und Lysis verknüpfen sich in der Videoarbeit Author unknown. Dystopische Videoaufnahmen von Tornados verhalten sich konträr zum melodischen Sound und schaffen ein Moment, in dem Gewissheiten unterlaufen und veränderte Bedeutungszusammenhänge konstituiert werden.

Beatriz Olabarrieta, Weather report, 2019. Ausstellungsansicht Stay Twice, Kunstverein Bielefeld, 2019. Photo: Fred Dott

14/14

Presseinformationen

Termine:

  • 06.09.2019, 19:00

    ERÖFFNUNG - STAY TWICE

  • 07.09.2019, 15:00

    AUSSTELLUNGSGESPRÄCH

    mit Beatriz Olabarrieta
    (in englischer Sprache)

  • 08.09.2019, 17:00

    AUSSTELLUNGSFÜHRUNG

    mit Nadine Droste

  • 21.09.2019, 10:00

    KINDERAKTION

    Workshop mit Klaus Braun
    10:00 - 15:00
    Kostenbeitrag: 15 €
    Um Anmeldung wird gebeten unter
    vermittlung@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

  • 09.11.2019, 10:00

    KINDERAKTION

    Workshop mit Klaus Braun
    10:00 - 15:00
    Kostenbeitrag: 15 €
    Um Anmeldung wird gebeten unter
    vermittlung@kunstverein-bielefeld.de

  • 10.11.2019, 17:00

    AUSSTELLUNGSFÜHRUNG

    mit Nadine Droste

Publikationen und Jahresgaben

Beatriz Olabarrieta
Stay Twice, 2019

Beatriz Olabarrieta
Stay Twice, 2019